It Don’t mean a Thing if it Ain’t Got That Swing

On New Year’s eve we watched the last Harry Potter movie; “The Deathly Hollows” parts 1 and 2. There is a lot in that story that reflect elements of the Gospel Message.  I know that there are those who would scoff at that (some of them violently) . . . but that’s their problem.

Universal themes of laying down one’s life for others, dying to oneself, being aware of the lies we tell ourselves, acknowledgement that there’s a bit of “Voldermort” in oneself.

But the greatest message I see woven subtly throughout the entire story thread is that without Love, it all doesn’t mean a thing.

I remember way back to the Disney Movie Classic “The Sword and the Stone”. Young Arthur is being mentored by Merlin. In his many adventures in learning, Arthur comes to the conclusion that the greatest “magic” (power) is Love. That it is the only true and real power.  Some of course would again scoff at connecting the word “magic” to that of the word “Love”. I can understand this.

There is perhaps no perfect descriptive for the word “Love” save that of what Paul the apostle was inspired to write in his first letter to the Corinthians. It is interesting to note that this part of his letter falls right smack-dab in the middle of the section that is dealing with gifts (“powers”) from/of the Spirit (Ruah Kodesh “Holy spirit”; Papa God’s Creative Breath of Life). Without Love, it don’t mean a thing.

And this: Without Love, it is not of God.

In the “grays” that I struggle within my life, this is what bothers me most. There are parts of “me” that have little love in them. And there are parts that have no love at all. So when crap from those parts surface, I am troubled and disturbed. Though I should not be surprized by that crap surfacing (though my ego is by the shocking fact that I’m not perfect). Papa God is not surprized either (nor is He disappointed or angry) when my crap surfaces. So why am I? Papa God accepts me. crap and all. It seems that The Divine is in the Sanitization Business. Which is a good thing as I would do a crappy job all on my own (though my ego thinks otherwise).

Note that I said “all on my own”; The process involves my participation. But I can’t do it all by myself. In one sense it is something that Papa has done completely (in Christ) and “is doing” (in Christ) but invites me to join in this process. I see echoes of this in Merton’s writings in “New Seeds of Contemplation”.

Wow! From Harry Potter to Merlin to Merton. That’s quite the Quantum leap.

But  . . . “It don’t mean a thing if it ain’t got that swing”.

That “swing” being Love.

Shalom, Grace and may it be that Love tackles you to the floor.

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

